O’Sullivan and Williams Dominate Awards

发布时间:2018-05-11 20:33 出处:TOP147HK 香港收藏本页 发表评论
分享到: QQ空间 新浪微博

     The Snooker’s Hall of Fame was founded in 2011 by the World Snooker and World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA). Snooker’s Hall of Fame included both already deceased and still living and active player.

     Ronnie O’Sullivan and Crucible king Mark Williams each won two categories at the annual World Snooker Awards ceremony in London tonight.

     O’Sullivan took the main Player of the Year award having enjoyed one of the best seasons of his career, capturing five ranking titles in a single campaign for the first time. The 42-year-old won the English Open, Shanghai Masters, UK Championship, World Grand Prix and Players Championship.

     O’Sullivan also received the KunLunShan (昆侖山) Fans’ Player of the Year award, voted by many thousands of fans on Twitter, Facebook, WeChat and Weibo.


     Williams won the Betfred World Championship last Monday for the third time in his career and first since 2003; the 43-year-old becoming the oldest player to conquer the Crucible since fellow Welshman Ray Reardon in 1978. Earlier in the season he also lifted silverware at the Six Red World Championship, Northern Ireland Open and German Masters.
     He was handed the Snooker Writers’ Player of the Year award, voted by the sport’s journalists. And Williams also received the Performance of the Year award for his tremendous display at the Crucible.

     The Rookie of the Year category was won by China’s 20-year-old Xu Si, whose impressive debut season was highlighted by a run to the semi-finals of the Indian Open.

     Magic Moment of the Year was won by Michael Georgiou for his dramatic victory at the Coral Shoot Out, beating Graeme Dott to the title with just a few seconds on the clock.

     Ding Junhui was inducted into snooker’s Hall of Fame. Asia’s best ever player, Ding has won 13 ranking events and had a huge influence on the growth of snooker in China over the past 12 years.

     Also inducted into the Hall of Fame was World Snooker Chairman Barry Hearn, for leading the global development of the sport since he took charge in 2010.

      The awards ceremony at the Dorchester Hotel also helped raised money for Jessie May Children’s Hospice at Home, which is World Snooker’s official charity.

World Snooker Awards 2017/18 winners

  Player of the Year : Ronnie O’Sullivan
  KunLunShan Fans’ Player of the Year : Ronnie O’Sullivan
  Snooker Writers’ Player of the Year : Mark Williams
  Performance of the Year : Mark Williams
  Rookie of the Year : Xu Si (徐思)
  Magic Moment of the Year : Michael Georgiou
  Hall of Fame : Ding Junhui (丁俊暉) and Barry Hearn

Snooker’s Hall of Fame includes both living and deceased players:

     In its founding year, eight players were included: Joe Davis, Fred Davis, John Pulman, Ray Reardon, John Spencer, Alex Higgins, Steve Davis and Stephen Hendry.

     In 2012 another four players received this great honour- Walter Donaldson, Mark Williams, John Higgins and Ronnie O’Sullivan.

     Terry Griffiths, Joe Johnson, Ken Doherty, Peter Ebdon, Shaun Murphy, Graeme Dott and Neil Robertson were added in 2013.

     In 2014 Dennis Taylor and Cliff Thorburn joined this club of giants.

     Mark Selby and John Parrott are the 2015 choice.

     In 2016 Stuart Bingham, Rex Williams and Sindhu Pulsirivong have joined to Snooker’s Hall of Fame.

     The 2017 choice was – Jimmy White and Clive Everton.



关注微信 随时了解台球资讯